Skip to Content

Members of the Senate

The Senate is comprised of 40 members, with each Senator elected to represent a district consisting of approximately 159,000 people. As required by the Massachusetts Constitution, the Senate meets every 72 hours, year-round in either formal or informal session to consider legislation. The Massachusetts  Senate is led by the President of the Senate who is elected by the members of the body at the beginning of each two-year legislative session. The Massachusetts Legislature, known as the General Court, has been meeting since 1713.

Senate Chamber
Pause Slideshow
Senate Chamber

Senate Democratic Leadership

Therese Murray

President of the Senate

The President of the Senate is elected by the members of the body to lead the Senate and set the agenda and priorities for the session. Once elected, the President of the Senate sets the session calendar of legislation to be considered, presides over sessions, interprets rules, answers Parliamentary questions and inquiries, and preserves order and decorum of the Chamber.
view profile

Senate Republican Leadership

Bruce E. Tarr

Minority Leader

The Minority Leader of the Senate is elected by the members of the minority party. In addition to establishing legislative priorities and positions for the minority party, the leader develops policy recommendations and leads debate on the Senate floor.
view profile

The Commonwealth of Massachusetts

List of Senate Members
Name Photo Party Room Phone Number Email Address
Barrett, Michael
(Michael Barrett)
Photo
D 313A 617-722-1572 Mike.Barrett@masenate.gov
Brewer, Stephen
(Stephen M. Brewer)
Photo
D 212 617-722-1540 Stephen.Brewer@masenate.gov
Brownsberger, William
(William N. Brownsberger)
Photo
D 413C 617-722-1280 William.Brownsberger@masenate.gov
Candaras, Gale
(Gale D. Candaras)
Photo
D 309 617-722-1291 Gale.Candaras@masenate.gov
Chandler, Harriette
(Harriette L. Chandler)
Photo
D 312C 617-722-1544 Harriette.Chandler@masenate.gov
Chang-Diaz, Sonia
(Sonia Chang-Diaz)
Photo
D 312D 617-722-1673 Sonia.Chang-Diaz@masenate.gov
Creem, Cynthia
(Cynthia S. Creem)
Photo
D 312A 617-722-1639 Cynthia.Creem@masenate.gov
DiDomenico, Sal
(Sal N. DiDomenico)
Photo
D 218 617-722-1650 Sal.DiDomenico@masenate.gov
Donnelly, Kenneth
(Kenneth J. Donnelly)
Photo
D 413D 617-722-1432 Kenneth.Donnelly@masenate.gov
Donoghue, Eileen
(Eileen M. Donoghue)
Photo
D 112 617-722-1630 Eileen.Donoghue@masenate.gov
Downing, Benjamin
(Benjamin B. Downing)
Photo
D 413F 617-722-1625 Benjamin.Downing@masenate.gov
Eldridge, James
(James B. Eldridge)
Photo
D 413A 617-722-1120 James.Eldridge@masenate.gov
Finegold, Barry
(Barry R. Finegold)
Photo
D 416B 617-722-1612 Barry.Finegold@masenate.gov
Flanagan, Jennifer
(Jennifer L. Flanagan)
Photo
D 208 617-722-1230 Jennifer.Flanagan@masenate.gov
Forry, Linda
(Linda Dorcena Forry)
Photo
D 419 617-722-1150 Linda.DorcenaForry@masenate.gov
Hedlund, Robert
(Robert L. Hedlund)
Photo
R 313C 617-722-1646 Robert.Hedlund@masenate.gov
Humason, Donald
(Donald F. Humason, Jr.)
Photo
R 213 A 617-722-1415 Donald.Humason@masenate.gov
Jehlen, Patricia
(Patricia D. Jehlen)
Photo
D 513 617-722-1578 Patricia.Jehlen@masenate.gov
Joyce, Brian
(Brian A. Joyce)
Photo
D 109D 617-722-1643 Brian.Joyce@masenate.gov
Keenan, John
(John F. Keenan)
Photo
D 413B 617-722-1494 John.Keenan@masenate.gov
Kennedy, Thomas
(Thomas P. Kennedy)
Photo
D 109E 617-722-1200 Thomas.Kennedy@masenate.gov
Lewis, Jason
(Jason Lewis)
Photo
D 511B 617-722-1206 Jason.Lewis@masenate.gov
Lovely, Joan
(Joan B. Lovely)
Photo
D 215 617-722-1410 Joan.Lovely@masenate.gov
McGee, Thomas
(Thomas M. McGee)
Photo
D 109C 617-722-1350 Thomas.McGee@masenate.gov
Montigny, Mark
(Mark C. Montigny)
Photo
D 407 617-722-1440 Mark.Montigny@masenate.gov
Moore, Michael
(Michael O. Moore)
Photo
D 109-B 617-722-1485 Michael.Moore@masenate.gov
Moore, Richard
(Richard T. Moore)
Photo
D 111 617-722-1420 Richard.Moore@masenate.gov
Murray, Therese
(Therese Murray)
Photo
D 332 617-722-1500 Therese.Murray@masenate.gov
O'Connor Ives, Kathleen
(Kathleen O'Connor Ives)
Photo
D 519 617-722-1604 Kathleen.OConnorIves@masenate.gov
Pacheco, Marc
(Marc R. Pacheco)
Photo
D 312B 617-722-1551 Marc.Pacheco@masenate.gov
Petruccelli, Anthony
(Anthony W. Petruccelli)
Photo
D 424 617-722-1634 Anthony.Petruccelli@masenate.gov
Rodrigues, Michael
(Michael J. Rodrigues)
Photo
D 213B 617-722-1114 Michael.Rodrigues@masenate.gov
Rosenberg, Stanley
(Stanley C. Rosenberg)
Photo
D 333 617-722-1532 Stan.Rosenberg@masenate.gov
Ross, Richard
(Richard J. Ross)
Photo
R 520 617-722-1555 Richard.Ross@masenate.gov
Rush, Michael
(Michael F. Rush)
Photo
D 504 617-722-1348 Mike.Rush@masenate.gov
Spilka, Karen
(Karen E. Spilka)
Photo
D 320 617-722-1640 Karen.Spilka@masenate.gov
Tarr, Bruce
(Bruce E. Tarr)
Photo
R 308 617-722-1600 Bruce.Tarr@masenate.gov
Timilty, James
(James E. Timilty)
Photo
D 507 617 722-1222 James.Timilty@masenate.gov
Welch, James
(James T. Welch)
Photo
D 416A 617-722-1660 James.Welch@masenate.gov
Wolf, Daniel
(Daniel A. Wolf)
Photo
D 511B 617-722-1570 Daniel.Wolf@masenate.gov

Error